Publication of shortlist for Interviewees for the position of Information Regulator

Posted April 15, 2016
Written by Mark Heyink
The shortlist for the position of Information Regulator has been published.

These are Advocate Pansy Tlakula, Mr Johannes Weapond, Mr David Taylor, Adv Lebogang Stroom, Mr Lindelo Snail, Mr Siyakhula Simelane, Ms Thav Reddy, Mr Francois Cronje, Ms Shamila Singh and Ms Tana Pistorius.

It is understood that candidates will be interviewed in the near future but it is not clear when the appointments for the positions to be filled and the Information Regulator will be announced.  This is a step in the right direction and we can only hope that in the near future appropriate protections against the abuses of privacy that are suffered by South African citizens can begin to be addressed.

©Mark Heyink 2016



  • 13 September 2017 - 12:37:00
    In Government Gazette No. 41105 published on the 8th September 2017, the Information Regulator invited comment on the draft Regulations ...

  • 11 April 2017 - 10:02:00
    I was recently referred to an article entitled "Responding to Cybercrime at Scale: Operation Avalanche - A Case Study". The article is published by the Centre for Cyber and Homeland Security at the George Washington University and is authored by Robert Wainwright, a director of Europol and Frank J. Cilluffo, director of the Centre for Cyber and Homeland Security.

    For anyone dealing with the Cybercrimes and Cybersecurity Bill, this article provides some insight into the complexity of cybercrime and the profoundly different way in which the combatting of cybercrime needs to be addressed.